Gina Lawless Books

June 14, 2012

Rainy Days and Mondays

Filed under: Obscure Stuff — Gina Lawless @ 2:42 pm
Tags: ,

Nothing really earth shattering, except some old memories that had long been buried in my subconscious for a very long time. When I was a teenager, popular bands ranged from Led Zeppelin, Emerson, Lake and Palmer, Aerosmith, Kiss, Supertramp, and of course I was gaga over Peter Frampton. You know, all the cool bands of that time, which in my opinion, are still cool bands. Always will be.

Anyway, my husband and I were listening to the oldies station on the radio, the same stuff we listen to day after day. And here’s where the old memory bank let loose on me. A song by Karen Carpenter comes on, Rainy Days and Mondays. I’m going to say this even if this makes me look uncool. And I had completely forgotten about this. At sixteen, I would wait until I was alone, plug in an eight track tape of Karen Carpenter, turn it up full blast, and sing with her to my heart’s content.

If any of my friends had known this, I would have been demoted to the rank of geek status, I’m sure. The feeling that little ritual gave me was of pure unadulterated joy. It was akin to being able to cry really hard when you have so much pent-up frustration, and releasing that stress. It was cathartic, refreshing, energizing, and very private.

When the memory flooded my brain with this, it made me smile, but I still thought that this was something I was NOT going to share with anyone…EVER! But, why not? Yes, I was a dork. And, so what? I think we all do things like that when we’re young that gives us pause to wonder about our normalcy, and if not, then I feel really stupid for posting this. It has nothing to do with writing…or maybe it does in its own way. If you can unlock memories like that, I think it allows us to be able to be more creative. Don’t you think? I have to really dig sometimes, to be able to remember something. But on occasion, such as this one, a memory slaps me across the face with such force, it rocks me leaving me breathless.

I wonder if the neighbors heard me!

2 Comments »

  1. GREAT post! I loved that song too. Wasn’t it fun to be able to sing along with our favorites? When I rock my granddaughter to sleep, I invariably find myself singing old Peter, Paul, and Mary songs. Now you know what a geriatric I am!
    By the way, I found you through LinkedIn’s “Book Marketing / Do You Have a Blog?” group.

    Comment by Sandy Nachlinger — June 16, 2012 @ 6:15 pm | Reply

    • Thanks Sandy for checking in! That is a very good topic on LinedIn. I enjoyed looking through everyone’s blogs. I’m no spring chicken either, but that just gives us more songs to remember. Right?

      Comment by ginaray — June 16, 2012 @ 6:30 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

