Gina Lawless Books

February 23, 2012

Books of a Different Genre

Filed under: Things On Writing — Gina Lawless @ 4:00 pm
Tags: , ,

I started this blog to promote Harbinger of the Light, a book I’ve been working on since 2002. I never intended to publish it, and only wrote for a distraction of horrible things that were going on in my life at the time. Since then, I have finished Harbinger, which is under construction for publication (so keep a look out for it), and have written two more novels of different genres. Not to mention, an assortment of poetry, and a few short stories.

It plagued me for quite awhile about which genre I wanted to write about, because as I said, they are all different. The truth is, there is no law saying that you have to stick to one single genre. This came to me one night staring at my Pug, whose name is Pug, short for Sugar Pug Fairy. Her little body is so compact that she coughs and farts at the same time. Sneezes and farts, barks and farts. Many people aren’t used to this aspect of my dog, but I think it’s endearing.

Anyway, it occurred to me that I can do the same thing-cough and fart. Write different genres-knowing that I’m not going to be chased after by the book police throwing hard backed books with sharp corners at me. The e-publishing generation allows us to write whatever we wish, without borders. It gives us more freedom to explore what ever it is that trips our trigger and write about it.

There are too many wonderful things, and awful thing, to write about to be held back by one specific thought or rule.

I write because it feels good. I write because I can’t not write. I write in my sleep, while I’m working, shopping, doing house work, and cleaning the toilet. The best molding mediums are words, shaped by your thoughts and translated onto paper…or computer.

Harbinger will be out shortly, and I’ll keep you posted. It’s geared toward the young adult. The other two are definitely adult themed books. If I write something that offends you, then here is my blanket apology. But, as they say, “Offense is the best defense.”

And, right now, I need to go take out the trash, then back to editing.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

